Costs of DUI in Utah | DUI Attorney Salt Lake City | DUI Lawyer
Many factors come into play when determining the costs associated with a DUI charge. You can lower your DUI costs by hiring a Salt Lake City DUI attorney.
Law Offices of David Paul White & Associates
Salt Lake City801-266-4114
St. George801-266-4185
Murray801-266-4185
699 East South Temple Suite 215 Salt Lake City, UT 84102
141 East 5600 South, Suite 209 Murray, UT 84107
header-banner

Drunk driving in Utah will cost you a lot. Unfortunately, prosecutors and police officers are aware of this and they will come get you. Many factors come into play when determining the costs associated with a DUI charge. You can lower your DUI costs by hiring a Salt Lake City DUI attorney. A lawyer will save you a lot in the long run and increase your chances of having your DUI charges either reduced or dropped.

Factors influencing the total DUI costs

A DUI can cost up to 20k in Utah. Of course, it all depends on the circumstances revolving around each specific DUI case, which may include:

  • If this is your first, second, or third offense.
  • Results of the chemical test.
  • Other factors contributing to the driver’s impairment.
  • Cost of the device used and the cost of probation.
  • How much your insurance will increase.
  • Fees collected by your attorney.

First offense

Although you may not feel comfortable the first time a DUI happens, this may be a lucky position to be in. But why is that? The maximum amount of time you could be in jail is 6 months. That’s nothing compared to other offenses. A good DUI attorney will be able to negotiate a better deal on your behalf and get you out of prison. There is also a 48-hour mandatory jail sentence. However, some judges may be gracious enough to sentence you to community service instead. It’s your first time. Anybody can make a mistake. You can also face up to $2000 in fines but that’s very rare. There are also other additional DUI costs involved.

Next time around

Things get more serious on your second and third offense. Penalties can be very high. There is a mandatory surcharge of $1600 and the mandatory prison time is 10 days. Also, judges may not be as friendly if you are a second or third-time offender. Community service is just out of the picture. Even when this option is offered, there is just too many hours required in this category and your time is limited. The penalty for a third DUI offense in Utah may also include up to 5 years in jail. If you are involved in this type of situation, you definitely need Utah DUI attorney to represent you.

Why hire a Salt Lake City DUI attorney

If you have been arrested for DUI, contact our firm today. The majority of people who hire attorneys in these types of cases can have some charges dropped or dismissed. Our attorneys are available to communicate with you and explain in more details how a DUI can affect you if you don’t seek legal representation. They have a good reputation and can handle your specific situation whatever your DUI case might be. Contact us today and schedule your initial consultation where you will be able to briefly discuss your case and find out what your legal options are.

Murray Office

Murray Office

SEND US A MESSAGE!

Please fill the below information to make an appointment.

How would you like to be contacted? Check all that apply.EmailPhone
I have read the disclaimer. Privacy Policy

Murray - 801-266-4185

About Associates

The Law Offices of White & Matern, PLLC represent individuals across the Intermountain West and Utah in criminal defense matters, including those in Salt Lake County and Washington County as well as the cities of Salt Lake City, St. George, Logan, Brigham City, Provo, Orem, West Valley City, Sandy, Murray, Kearns, Draper, Park City, Tooele, Bountiful, Ogden, Layton, South Jordan, Taylorsville, Vernal, Price, Tremonton and Heber City

keep In Touch

  • uacdl
  • certificate1
  • certificate2
  • certificate3